Minutes of a Reorganization Meeting of the Verona Township Council on Monday, July 1, 2023 on the steps of the Municipal Building, 600 Bloomfield Avenue, Verona, New Jersey beginning at Noon.

Municipal Clerk Jennifer Kiernan welcomes everyone and states the reason for the meeting is to swear in the newly elected officials: present are Councilwoman Holland, Councilman McEvoy, Councilwoman-Elect McGrath, Councilman-Elect Roman, Councilman Tamburro, Township Manager Joseph D'Arco and Township Attorney Brian Aloia.

Reverend Jerry A. Racioppi, Episcopal Church of the Holy Spirit gives the invocation.

Jennifer Kiernan leads the Flag Salute and invites Abby Shust to the podium to sing the National Anthem.

Jennifer Kiernan reads the Open Public Meetings Act Statement of Compliance.

Ms. Kiernan also presents Councilman-Elect Roman and Councilwoman-Elect McGrath Tamburro with the Certificates of Election.

Alex Roman is administered the oath of office as Councilmember-at Large by the Township Attorney.

Christine McGrath is administered the oath of office as Councilmember-at-Large by U.S. Representative Donald M. Payne, Jr.

Municipal Clerk Kiernan calls the roll. Present are Councilman Roman, Councilman McEvoy, Councilwoman McGrath, Councilwoman Holland and Councilman Tamburro.

Election of Mayor:

The Municipal Clerk distributes ballots to each councilmember to elect the Mayor. Christine McGrath receives 2 votes; Christopher Tamburro receives 3 votes. Christopher Tamburro is elected Mayor by a vote of 3-2.

Christopher Tamburro is administered the oath of office as Mayor for a term ending June 30, 2025 by Assistant Tax Assessor of the Township of Verona and President of the Verona Board of Education Pam Priscoe.

Election of Deputy Mayor:

The Municipal Clerk distributes ballots to each councilmember to elect the Deputy Mayor. Jack McEvoy is elected Deputy Mayor by the Township Council by a vote of 5-0.

Jack McEvoy is administered the oath of office as Deputy Mayor for a term ending June 30, 2025 by Municipal Clerk Jennifer Kiernan.

Mayor Tamburro presides over the remainder of the meeting.

New Business:

Mayor Tamburro announces the Council Representatives to Township Boards/Committees & Commissions.

a. Environmental Commission Mayor Tamburro b. Green Team Deputy Mayor McEvoy Deputy Mayor McEvoy c. Historical Preservation Commission d. Municipal Alliance Committee Councilwoman Holland e. Joint Flood Control Board Councilwoman Holland f. MIAAC Councilwoman McGrath g. Neighborhood Traffic & Safety Committee Councilwoman McGrath h. Open Space Advisory Committee (2) Mayor Tamburro & Councilman Roman Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee Councilwoman Holland Planning Board - Class III Member Councilman Roman i. k. Shade Tree Commission Councilwoman McGrath

A motion to approve the 2023-2024 Council Liaisons is moved by Deputy Mayor McEvoy; seconded by Councilman Roman

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Holland, Tamburro, McEvoy, McGrath, Roman

NAYS:

Public Participation:

None

Father Peter G. Wherle of Our Lady of the Lake Church gives the benediction.

Adjournment:

Motion to adjourn meeting is moved by Deputy Mayor McEvoy; seconded by Councilman Roman. Vote: 5 ayes.

The meeting is adjourned at 1:26 p.m. The next regular Council meeting is scheduled for Monday, July 10, 2023 at 7:00 p.m. in Council Chambers, 600 Bloomfield Avenue.

Respectfully submitted,

Jennifer Kiernan, Municipal Clerk

Christopher Tamburro, Mayor

Christyh H. Taulun

APPROVED: August 7, 2023